Underground (Winter 2012)

You were only twenty-six

When you’d crossed the river Styx,

And left me here to carry on with out you.

 

You’d fought until the bitter end

But the tear too great wouldn’t mend,

The fierce gray wolf had finally gotten to you.

 

Now I walk this valley floor

Where you’d trodden once before,

The ghost behind me, Oh, I know it is you!

 

Within this wood there lurks the beast

Who’d bitten you, he comes for me.

The trees are thick, but whispers lead me onward.

 

Though my sun is in the west,

Fires burning in my breast

Like the sun, they are glowing golden for you.

 

Three times before the sun will set

The King’s fate is sadly met,

But from ashes you won’t rise again, will you?

 

Though the light is fading low

Among the trees down here below,

I have no fear of shadows here beside you.

 

And in this dark a path is found

Among the needles on the ground.

It snakes along the valley floor and I press onward.

Leave a comment